About Me

My name is Wout and I am sixteen years old. I want to make a food blog because I am a food lover. Food is more important than most people think, I always say that food is my world. I like healthy food for example fruit and vegetables but I also like very special food that not a lot of people know it exists. Of course I also like burgers and fries but I know my limits.

Did you know?

Wasp cookies

Did you know that people in japan eat wasp cookies. They catch wasps and they are then boiled in water, dried and processed in cheap biscuits. The Japanese people can buy it at local markets.

Snake wine

Snake wine is an alcoholic beverage produced by infusing whole snakes in rice wine or grain alcohol. The drink was first recorded to have been consumed in China during the Western Zhou dynasty and considered an important curative and believed to reinvigorate a person according to Traditional Chinese medicine.


Cooking with alcohol

Did you know cooking with alcohol can mean cooking with alcohol as an ingredient, combusting alcohol for heat or effect, or both at the same time. Wine, especially, is used as an ingredient for its acidic properties, for the bitterness of its tannins, and for its fruit components. Beer and liqueurs are also commonly used as alcoholic ingredients. For a flambé, in which warm alcohol is ignited, the higher alcohol content of a distilled spirit is required.

Beaver

Did you know inuits eat Beaver? The industrious beaver is the largest rodent on the North American Continent, and is found in all the waterways of the forested areas of the north. Beaver meat is dark red, fine grained, moist and tender, and when properly prepared, is similar in flavour to roast pork. Principal hunting methods reported include deadfalls, snares, nets, bows and arrows, spears and clubs.


Tamale

Tamale is an traditional dish from Latin America or more specific Mexico. It is made of masa or dough, which is steamed in a corn husk or banana leaf. Tamales can be filled with meats, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, chilies or any preparation according to taste, and both the filling and the cooking liquid may be seasoned.

My favourite dish

Italian risotto in the oven

This Jamie Oliver recipe is my favorite dish since my mom first made it two years ago. It’s a very easy and quick recipe to make, everything goes into one pan and when it comes out of the oven 40 minutes later is smells and tastes like heaven.

You only need onions, risotto rice, mascarpone cheese, Italian salami, some broth and parmezaan. So first you heat the oven to 180°. In the mean time you peel the onions and tear them apart, they go into a hot pan without any oil, you do need to stir! After 4 minutes or so, turn down the heat a little and add a little olive oil, the rice and the meat, keep stirring for a minute. Then add 1,2l broth and the mascarpone, salt and peper. Stir one more time, grate the cheese on top and put in the oven for 40 minutes.

Deze afbeelding heeft een leeg alt-atribuut; de bestandsnaam is 51908204_2273470816274446_3628745266263228416_n.jpg

My favorite restaurant

Pastabar G&G

I love Italian food, so my favorite restaurant is a little place in Genk where they have the best pasta dishes I have ever tasted. The restaurant is in the centre of town and it is always busy, it’s very small so you have to be very lucky to get a table. Reservations are strongly recommended. The menu is very simple, they serve a few Italian appetizers and the main course is only pastas. My favorite pasta is Penne dello chef, a delicious creamy spicy tomatosauce with bacon over penne served in a pan, straight from the stove. The time between ordering and the serving of the food is excellent, never too long, during the wait they serve delicious Italian bread with olive oil and of course drinks! On top of that pricing is very good, so I would recommend a visit to everyone.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor pastabar g&g

Comment on the presentation

Virgin boy eggs (Milan)

Milan presented this very strange dish, at first I thought it was very awkward and I was not sure he made it up or not. But he presented it very well so I was convinced this really exists. He put a lot of effort in finding a very original recipe and presented it convincingly. I still think this is a very strange dish and I would not want to try it. I’m not sure Milan would try it! Milan presented it in clear voice and it was not too long or too short. He kept my attention going. It was easy to understand because of the words he used. Maybe he could have used more specific words to describe the dish and the cultural presentation.Overall I think he did a good job.

1 Comments

  1. Hey Wout, I like what you did with your blog, the lay-out is nice and simple, so it’s easy to find the way around your site. The contents of your site are interesting as well. Especially your food facts, they were really creative little ‘did you knows?’. Apart from that your favourite restaurant intrigued too. I’ll be sure to visit it one day. As for the other items on your site, the recipe seemed pretty good. Same goes for the post about your favourite food, I might try it one day. Overall, definitely a really entertaining and interesting read. That wraps up my comment, keep up the good work.

    Like

Plaats een reactie